

Board of Trustees Advocacy Priorities

We believe that **student** success requires:



Space for Students

New Schools – as one of Alberta's fastest growing school jurisdictions, government must provide new schools in alignment with the needs of growing communities with increasing student populations.

School Sites – municipalities should prioritize right-sized, shovel-ready sites for new schools in early phases of any land development plans.

Modulars – government must provide modular classroom approvals and funding to address student enrolment growth while new schools are being built.



Funding for Students

Prioritize Public Education – government funding for public education must be prioritized and strengthened recognizing the societal benefits of this critical investment.

Equitable Funding – all students need government funding every year. The current funding model (weighted moving average method) considers an enrolment average for the previous, current and projected school year. For a growing district like RVS, funding does not keep up with the number of new students.



Support for Students

Student Health and Wellness – additional supports need to be provided both provincially across ministerial departments and locally through community policing, Family and Community Support Services and not-for-profit organizations, to support the increasing number, complexity and diversity of student needs.

Local Decision Making – as representatives of the community, locally-elected school board trustees, empowered with the flexibility and autonomy to make local decisions, are in the best position to understand and reflect the values and priorities of our students and families.

Contact Us

Ward One – Shali Baziuk 403-850-5758 sbaziuk@rockyview.ab.ca Represents: Chestermere

Ward Two – Shelley Kinley 403-371-7860 skinley@rockyview.ab.ca Represents: Langdon, Indus and SE Rocky View County

Ward Three – Melyssa Bowen 403-835-6673 mbowen@rockyview.ab.ca Represents: Airdrie

Ward Three – Todd Brand 403-608-2710 tbrand@rockyview.ab.ca Represents: Airdrie

Ward Three – Fred Burley 403-874-9062 fburley@rockyview.ab.ca Represents: Airdrie

Ward Four – Norma Lang 403-921-0303 nlang@rockyview.ab.ca Represents: Crossfield, Irricana, Beiseker, Kathyrn and NE Rocky View County

Ward Five – Judi Hunter 403-888-1831 jhunter@rockyview.ab.ca Represents: Redwood Meadows and West Rocky View County, including Springbank, Bragg Creek, Bearspaw and the eastern edges of the MD of Bighorn

Ward Six – Fiona Gilbert 403-200-8968 fgilbert@rockyview.ab.ca Represents: Cochrane

