

TRUSTEES PRESENT:

APPROVED MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES ORGANIZATIONAL BOARD MEETING HELD RVS EDUCATION CENTRE

2651 CHINOOK WINDS DR. SW AIRDRIE, ALBERTA

THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 24, 2020

Ward 1	Shali Baziuk
Ward 2	Patty Sproule
Ward 3	Melyssa Bowen
Ward 3	Jim Forrest
Ward 3	Todd Brand
Ward 4	Norma Lang
Ward 5	Judi Hunter
Ward 6	Fiona Gilbert

 ADMINISTRATION PRESENT:
 Superintendent of Schools
 Greg Luterbach

 Associate Superintendent of Business and Operations
 Larry Paul

 Director of Communications
 Tara de Weerd

 Communications Officer
 Erlene Gococo

RECORDER:

Executive Assistant Jennie Thompson

1. CALL TO ORDER

Associate Superintendent of Business and Operations Larry Paul called the Organizational meeting to order at 9:32 a.m.

2. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

#671-2020 MOTION BY UNANIMOUS CONSENT:

The Board of Trustees approves the September 24, 2020, organizational meeting agenda as circulated.

CARRIED

3. REQUEST FOR SECRET BALLOT FOR CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR POSITIONS

Larry Paul advised that in accordance with the Education Act, if requested by one or more Trustees, a secret ballot must be held for the election of the positions of Chair and Vice-Chair.

Trustee Todd Brand requested a secret ballot for the election of the positions of Chair and Vice-Chair.

4. APPOINTMENT OF BALLOT COMMITTEE

Larry Paul recommended Director of Finance Karyn Golem and Manager of Finance Jenelle Weisgarber as the Ballot Committee.

5. MOTION TO SUSPEND THE RULES AND ADOPT THE FOLLOWING RESOLUTION #672-2020 MOTION BY TRUSTEE FIONA GILBERT:

In the event of a tie vote for any of the elected or appointed positions, the vote will be repeated up to an additional two times. If after three rounds of voting there is still a tie, the

name of each candidate will be chosen randomly by a member of the ballot committee selection a ballot from the names in the draw.

CARRIED

6. ELECTION OF CHAIR OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES FOR THE 2020/2021 SCHOOL YEAR

Larry Paul called three times for nominations for the position of Chair of the Board of Trustees of Rocky View School Division for the 2020/2021 school year.

Judi Hunter nominated Fiona Gilbert. Fiona Gilbert accepted the nomination.

A vote by ballot to elect a chair was conducted.

The result of the vote to elect a chair was 8 for Trustee Gilbert and 0 against.

Larry Paul declared Fiona Gilbert Chair of the Board for the 2020/2021 school year.

7. TURN OVER OF CHAIR

Larry Paul congratulated Fiona Gilbert and turned the meeting Chair over to her.

8. ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR FOR THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES FOR THE 2020/2021 SCHOOL YEAR Chair Fiona Gilbert called three times for nominations for the position of Vice-Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Rocky View School Division for the 2020/2021 school year.

> Norma Lang nominated Shali Baziuk. Shali Baziuk accepted the nomination.

Melyssa Bowen put her name forward as a nominee.

The candidate statements were made and a vote was called.

A vote by ballot to elect a vice-chair was conducted.

The result of the vote was 5 for Shali Baziuk and 3 for Melyssa Bowen.

Chair Fiona Gilbert declared Trustee Shai Baziuk Vice-Chair of the Board for the 2020/2021 school year.

9. DESTRUCTION OF BALLOTS

Chair/Treasurer Initials

#673-2020 MOTION BY UNANIMOUS CONSENT:

That the ballots for the election of vice-chair be destroyed.

CARRIED

10. APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES AND BOARD REPRESENTATIVES #674-2020 MOTION BY TRUSTEE FIONA GILBERT:

The Board of Trustees approves the Ad Hoc Trustee Orientation Committee Terms of Reference as presented.

CARRIED

#675-2020 MOTION BY TRUSTEE JUDI HUNTER:

The Board of Trustees approve the 2020/2021 committee membership and board representatives as per the list below.

CARRIED

	RVS Board Committee Membership			
А. В.	Advocacy	Chair ASBA Zone 5 Rep (M. Bowen) Trustee (J. Forrest) Chair		
D.	Agenda Planning	Vice Chair		
C.	Appeals	Three Trustees (P. Sproule, T. Brand & S. Baziuk)		
D.	ASBA	Three Trustees (M. Bowen, Zone 5 Rep, J. Hunter Zone 5 Rep & S. Baziuk)		
E.	Audit	Trustee from previous year (J. Hunter) Trustee (N. Lang) Alternate: J. Forrest Other Trustees are ex-officio (observers only)		
F.	Board Planning	All Trustees		
G.	Budget	All Trustees		
Н.	Expulsion	Three Trustees (T. Brand, P. Sproule & J. Hunter)		
I.	Labour Relations	Two Trustees (S. Baziuk & J. Hunter) TEBA Rep (N. Lang)		
J.	Policy Development	Three Trustees (F. Gilbert, T. Brand & M. Bowen)		
К.	School Councils	Vice Chair Three Trustees (M. Bowen, J. Forrest & F. Gilbert)		
L.	Trustee Orientation Committee (Ad Hoc)	Three Trustees (F. Gilbert, N. Lang, & J. Hunter)		

RVS Board Representatives			
Α.	Teacher Employer Bargaining Association (TEBA)	Trustee (N. Lang)	
В.	Professional Development Leave (PDLC)	Two Trustees (M. Bowen & N. Lang)	
C.	Alberta School Boards' Association (ASBA) Zone 5	Two Trustees (M. Bowen & J. Hunter)	

D.	Inclement Weather	One Trustee Representative Per Area (Chestermere – P. Sproule Airdrie -M. Bowen Crossfield / Kathyrn / Beiseker – N. Lang Bragg Creek / Springbank – J. Hunter Cochrane/Westbrook/Bearspaw)- F. Gilbert
E.	Langdon High School Site Planning	Trustee (P. Sproule)
F.	School Council Meetings	One Trustee Representative Per Council (area specific)
G.	Springbank Park for All Seasons	Trustee (J. Hunter)
Н.	RVS Adult Learning Advisory Board	Trustee (P. Sproule)
I.	Cochrane Parks and Recreation	Trustee (F. Gilbert)

.

11. Adjournment

Chair Fiona Gilbert adjourned the organizational Meeting at 10:00 a.m.

Chair

Secretary-Treasurer