Archived News

Back to all posts

Beiseker Teacher Selected as RVS’ Edwin Parr Nominee

Posted on

Edwin Parr Nominee Brandy PerryEach year, RVS is proud to nominate a first-year teacher to receive the Edwin Parr Teacher Award sponsored by Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA). This year's nominee is Beiseker Community School Teacher, Brandy Perry.

In her first year of teaching, Brandy has given her time and talent to foster a strong sense of community at Beiseker. In just five months, she has created significant interest in her foods program – nearly every student in Grades 7, 8 and 9 chose foods as their option for the second semester, causing the school to change the timetable mid-year to accommodate their wishes.

Brandy also spends much of her time volunteering for the school as a coach for two different sports teams. She has participated in multiple student council events and in the school’s talent show. Earlier this year, Brandy and her Grade 11 students were recognized by the RVS Board of Trustees for their Entertaining with Foods unit, which taught event planning by having students budget and execute different types of events for the school.

Brandy has had a positive impact on everyone at Beiseker Community School. She is willing to help anyone she can at any time, and her endless energy has sparked excitement around the building.

The Edwin Parr Teacher Award has annually recognized excellent first-year teachers across Alberta since 1964 and is given to a teacher from ASBA's six zones each year. If Brandy is selected as the Zone 5 winner, she will be recognized along with five other teachers at an ASBA meeting this fall.

Please join us in congratulating Brandy on this great achievement! We also thank and recognize the other first-year teacher whose name was put forward for consideration (pictured below):

  • Taylor Thompson – East Lake School

Taylor Thompson

Land Acknowledgment

Rocky View Schools would like to acknowledge the land and recognize all the Indigenous Peoples whose footprints have marked these lands from time immemorial. Together, we can learn and honour the Ways of Knowing of Indigenous Peoples for all future generations.